The shot

The shot cracked and I watched his body crumple. Before my eyes, only an arms length away. His body hit the ground with a thud that to this day still echoes in my head. With disbelief I grabbed a cloth and pressed it to his head. A piece of brain matter taunted me from the floor as the puddle grew larger. My mind went blank and I couldn’t reason with myself that it was too late. His breath was but a gurgle… Choking on his own blood. I sucked out three or four mouthfuls and spit them onto the ground then tried to breathe my life into him. When the others arrived, they pulled me off of him. They tried to tell me he was gone. But I just couldn’t fathom leaving here without him.

Leave a Reply

